You have a new PM! Click here here to read it!

Go Back   Ford Diesel Power Forums > Technical Section > 7.3L Powerstroke Technical Discussion

7.3L Powerstroke Technical Discussion Technical info, repair and non performance related discussion for the 7.3L Power Stroke engine here.

Old 11-11-2008, 07:36 PM

Cool Navistar up pipe upgrade

First post here guys. Lots of great info posted that i've seen.I've been trolling this site for a couple months, and I'm very impressed with the tech and info I've seen. I'm a truck shop manager at a large Ford Dealer in Virginia. I've been working with Diesels for the last 30 years. I use my 2001 F250 7.3 Diesel (bought new) to tow my drag car in a 24' enclosed trailer. I had to replace my leaking up pipes this summer at 47,000 miles. Right after that I read that Navistar had come out with a upgraded bellows setup. I've checked with my local IH dealer on this, and I've been told that there are two kits, the standard and a high torque kit. The high torque kit is like $200 over the standard kit. Has anyone rechearched this? I'm concidering swapping to the GT38R turbo this winter, and I think adding the new style up pipes would be a must at this time. Any toughts?????

Thanks, Mike.........
Old 11-11-2008, 07:43 PM
Administrator

you have really 2 choices to upgrade to the international one which are what BWD sells here http://www.shop.blackwidowdiesel.com...&productId=340

and then there are the ones that Dave sells these are custom SS I have these and i had mine coated by jet hot but these are more money eith one is a much better set up then the stocker POS http://www.dieselinnovations.com/di....ts&product=270
Old 11-11-2008, 07:50 PM

I believe the correct part number is 1837872C93 for the 99.5+ engines and can be used for OBS trucks with SD conversion.

PDR also makes a nice set of bellowed up pipes as well.